Beggar

This is a photo I call “Beggar”. It was taken in the Philippines in January 2006, on our way south to Manila. We were eating lunch at the local Jollybee (kind of like McDonalds) in Solano City and I saw this sad looking fellow begging for coins at the rear entrance of the restaurant. I gave him some money as I felt I couldn’t take a  picture of him without giving him something for his troubles. He looks like he’s crippled as well. I entered this into a local photo contest and I converted it to black and white from he original colour file as I felt it had more power if I eliminated the distracting colours. It didn’t win the contest but I think it has a powerful social commentary. The desparate man is reaching for survival as the other people casually ignore him.

Leave a Reply

