YES Tour ’08 Resurrected (then Cancelled Again)

According to several news sources, Jon Anderson will be replaced on vocal duties for the next Yes Tour. And it’s starting here in Ontario! The replacement is a fellow from a Yes Tribute band from Montreal, Quebec. Chris Squire saw him on Youtube doing his Anderson type stuff and gave him a call. I have no problem with this. I hate to say it, but I enjoyed a Genesis Tribute show (Turn It On Again, Feb 2008 @ the Danforth Music Hall) more than the real thing (Genesis @ BMO Field Sept 2007).

Sometimes these drastic changes bring fresh life into a band (like when Phil Collins took over for Peter Gabriel…I also wish the Ray Wilson Genesis had toured over here and I still want to hear some live stuff from that 97-98 tour). Also, the setlist should be very interesting. Squire wants to play some songs that Jon has no interest in fronting (Drama stuff) and Yes has plenty of material to cull from.

Anyway, I hope it works, and I plan to check it out. Yes to the music!

Update: They are going to play Massey Hall on Nov 5th.

Update: February 2009, due to Chris Squires health issues, the tour has been cancelled…lucky I got to see them when I did.

Leave a Reply

